Saturday, February 3, 2018

2018 Indian Premier League

The 2018 season of the Indian Premier League, also well-known as IPL 11, will be the eleventh season of the IPL, a professional Twenty-20 cricket league established by the BCCI in 2007.The tournament is going to be hosted from April 4 to May 31. Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals will return in 2018 after serving two years of suspension for the involvement of their respective owners in the 2013 IPL spot-fixing and betting case. Star Sports bagged the media rights at a whopping ₹16,347.5 crore or $2.55 billion for the next five years, starting from 2018.

2018 VIVO Indian Premier League
4 April – 31 May 2018
Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)
Cricket format
Tournament format(s)
Double round robin and playoffs knockout
Matches played
Official website

Current Teams

Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals have been re-included in the 2018 league after the serving two years of suspension from the competition because of the involvement of their players in the 2013 IPL betting scandal. The two franchises which had replaced them between 2015 and 2017 - Rising Pune Supergiant and Gujarat Lions are not coming in 2018.

The following franchises are currently scheduled to play in 2018:

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Delhi Daredevils
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad


Eight teams are planned to play in 2018. The tournament involves each team playing every other team twice in a home-and-away, twice round-robin format. At the finale of the double round-robin league, the top four teams on the basis of collective points qualify for the playoffs. In this stage, the top two teams participate with each other (in a match titled "Qualifier 1"), as do the outstanding two teams (in a match titled "Eliminator"). While the winner of Qualifier 1 straight qualifies for the final competition, the losing team gets another option to qualify for the final match by playing with the winning team of the disqualify match; this match is titled Qualifier 2. The winner of this forthcoming Qualifier 2 match moves on top of the final match. The team that wins the final match is stately the Indian Premier League

Personnel Changes

Vivo IPL governing council decided that highest of five players can be retained by each IPL team. Of the five players, a franchise can retain a maximum of three players through retention in lead up to the auction, and a maximum of three players through right-to-match card during the Dutch auction. The other restrictions on player retention are: a greatest of three capped Indian players can be retained, and only two abroad players and two uncapped Indian players can be retained. The salary cap for each team for the 2018 season has been enlarged from Rs.66 crore to Rs.80 crore (around $12.4 million). A franchise will be allowed to expend only Rs.33 crore on retentions ahead of the 2018 IPL auction, leaving it at least Rs.47 crore to spend at the auction

1 comment: