Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Vivo IPL- Mumbai Indians Team 2018 Squad

Rohit Sharma
Mahela Jayawardene
Team information
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2008; 9 years ago
Home ground
Wankhede Stadium
(Capacity: 33,108)
Secondary home ground(s)
Brabourne Stadium (Capacity: 25,000)
Indian Premier League wins
3 (2013, 2015, 2017)
CLT20 wins
2 (2011, 2013)
Official website:

Mumbai Indians (shortened as MI) is a franchise cricket team instead of the city of Mumbai, Maharashtra, in the Indian Premier League. The franchise is owned by India's largest corporation, Reliance Industries, throughout its 100% subsidiary IndiaWin Sports. The primary home position of the Mumbai Indians is the Wankhede Stadium.
Mumbai Indians is the most victorious team in the IPL. They won the 2011 Champions League Twenty20 after whipping Royal Challengers Bangalore by 31 runs in the final. The squad won its first IPL title, in 2013, by defeating Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in the final, and then beaten the Rajasthan Royals by 33 runs to win its second Champions League Twenty20 title later that year. They won their 2ND Indian Premier League title on 24 May 2015 by defeating the Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs in the final and became the third team to win more than one Indian Premier League title. On 21 May 2017, they won their third Indian Premier League title by defeating the Rising Pune Supergiants by 1 run in the final, thus becoming the first team to win three Indian Premier League titles. While playing the tournament, they won their 100th T20, becoming the first team to do so.
Mumbai Indians is presently captained by Rohit Sharma. Mahela Jayawardene has been selected as the new head coach of Mumbai Indians for the 2017 season. Rohit Sharma is the important run scorer of the team while Lasith Malinga is the leading wicket taker.

Franchise history

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced in September 2007 the establishment of the Indian Premier League, a Twenty20 competition to be started in 2008. Within January 2008, the BCCI unveiled the owners of eight city-based franchises. The Mumbai contract was sold to the Reliance Industries Ltd (RIL) for $111.9 million, making it the most exclusive team to be sold in the league. RIL, owned by Mukesh Ambani procured the rights to the franchise for a time of 10 years. The franchise was finally named "Mumbai Indians".

Home ground

The Mumbai Indians played home sports event at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai for the first two Indian Premier League seasons. In the 3RD season, in 2010, they played all seven home games at the Brabourne Stadium whereas the Wankhede Stadium undergoes renovation for hosting a few matches of assembly stage as well as the final of the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup. Mumbai Indians won 6TH out of the seven matches at the Brabourne Stadium that season.
Mumbai Indians currently play their home games at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The stadium is named behind former BCCI President S. K. Wankhede. The arena is owned by the Mumbai Cricket organization and has a seating ability of more than 30,000.

Administration and support staff

  • Owner – Reliance Industries
  • Head coach – Mahela Jayawardene
  • Batting coach – Robin Singh
  • Bowling coach - Shane Bond
  • Fielding coach – Jonty Rhodes
  • Assistant coach - Paras Mhambrey
  • Mentor - Sachin Tendulkar
  • Youth development and head talent scout – John Wright
  • Physio – Dr Nitin Patel
  • Trainer – Paul Chapman
  • Nutritionist – Kinita Kadakia Patel
  • Masseur - Robert Gibson
  • Video analyst – CKM Dhananjai
  • Assistant strength and conditioning coach - Afzal Khan
  • Team Manager - Rahul Sanghvi

Head coach record

As of 2017 season

Kit manufacturers and sponsors

American International Corporation – MasterCard was the official founding sponsor of the Mumbai Indians, whereas Adidas was their official apparel sponsor until 2014. Since then UAE's national carrier Etihad Airways signed a three year agreement and took over as one of the principle sponsor of Mumbai Indians. During 2015, Performax, the in-house brand of Reliance Trends, took above as the apparel sponsors. Associate sponsors and authorized partners include Bridgestone, Dheeraj and East Coast LLC, Kingfisher, Wrigley's Orbit, Wrigley's Boomer, Royal Stag, Air India, Msn, Jet Airways and Red FM 93.5. Hero Motocorp was also one of the main sponsors of Mumbai Indians for 2011 and 2012 seasons. The principal sponsors of Mumbai Indians are Videocon d2h since 2013. Within 2015, companies such as USHA, Jack & Jones, HTC, Tiny Owl, Paytm, Ola Cabs, DNA and Fever 104 FM came on circle. From 2016, DHFL and Samsung connected as the new associate sponsors. Along with them Pepsi, yatra, Radio City, LYF smartphones and Guvera came in as the new executive sponsors. The global fashion brand Diesel's first ever organization with cricket will produce a limited edition compilation which will be available globally across popular cricket playing nations.


Post a Comment