Sunday, May 20, 2018

Vivo IPL Live Score, Delhi Daredevils vs Mumbai Indians: Mumbai Indians to Fight for Playoff Berth vs Delhi Daredevils

Vivo IPL Delhi Daredevils (DD) vs Mumbai Indians (MI) Live Score: Mumbai Indians had a topsy-turvy battle so far after a series of defeats early in the match.

Back in their part at the business end of the tournament, defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) will be firing on all cylinders against wooden spooners Delhi Daredevils (DD) in their bid to clinch a playoff berth in a must win Indian Premier League Match on Sunday. The cash-rich league is still alive and kicking with only Sunrisers Hyderabad (18 from 13 games) and Chennai Super Kings (16 from 13 games) having confirmed playoff spots. Statistically, 5 teams save Delhi Daredevils are still in contention, with 2 playoff spots still up for grabs. In the mid table clutter, MI are among the four teams who are at twelve points and fighting for a spot in the playoff. Mumbai Indians (NRR +0.384) will be praying for a positive result for SRH in their last home match against KKR (14 points and NRR -0.091). A KKR win meant that only one slot is left during the final two matches with an eye on run-rate.

While Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will face off in 1 of the 2 matches, Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) takes on Chennai Super Kings in the final round robin match later in the evening at Pune. Still, the performance in the past few matches is sure to have boosted the assurance of Rohit Sharma and his men. Mumbai Indians had a topsy turvy fight so far after a series of defeats early in the competition; they were talented to string in the victories when it mattered most. However, Delhi Daredevils can be the banana peel and Mumbai Indians will be wary after CSK slipped in their second last game. For Delhi Daredevils, there is nothing but pride at stake, which makes the young team dangerous oppositions. The last time the 2 teams faced off, it was DD won by 7 wickets win in a last over thriller.

most death over situations
Delhi Daredevils         vs             Mumbai Indians
174/4 (20)                                                           163 (19.3)

DD beat MI by 11 runs

Delhi Daredevils

Mumbai Indians

Vivo IPL 2018 Live updates of Delhi Daredevils vs Mumbai Indians match, Live from Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

MI batsmen have been conflicting so far with skipper Rohit Sharma scoring only 273 runs in this edition so far. It took a strokeful fifty from Kieron Pollard to help Mumbai Indians post a competitive score against kings XI Punjab in their last match. Suryakumar Yadav (500 runs) has been among runs after being promoted as an opener while West Indian opener Evin Lewis (334) has had his moments on and off. Skipper Rohit's poor form is a big worry for Mumbai. Apart from his match winning knock against RCB, Rohit has failed to live up to the expectations of the fans and MI need him to add big time, so that Pollard and the Pandya brothers - Hardik and Krunal can provide the late charge if needed. Jasprit Bumrah's (16 wickets) sensational 3-wicket haul in the last match will give him a lot of self-confidence apart from his consistent show in most death over situations.

Hardik (18 wickets and 233 runs) has been solid without being spectacular while Krunal (224 runs and 11 wickets) has again been inspiring. For Delhi, it has been another forgettable season as they looked below par during the competition. Despite having legendary Ricky Ponting on board as coach or handing the captaincy in the middle of the match to young Shreyas Iyer, they have once again brought up the rear. However, a break of five days seemed to fresh them as they outclassed terrifying Chennai by 34 runs to restore some pride. Vijay Shankar and Harshal Patel helped Daredevils post 162 for five and then leg-spinners Amit Mishra (2/20) and young Sandeep Lamichhane (1/21) managed to restrict CSK to 128 for six and Iyer would expect a similar effort from his team.

The Teams (From):
Delhi Daredevils: Shreyas Iyer (C), Rishabh Pant, Glenn Maxwell, Gautam Gambhir, Jason Roy, Colin Munro, Mohammed Shami, Amit Mishra, Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Daniel Christian, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Trent Boult, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh, Liam Plunkett, Junior Dala.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mayank Markande, Mitchell McLenaghan, Mustafizur Rahaman, Jasprit Bumrah, Akila Dananjaya, Ben Cutting, JP Duminy, Rahul Chahar, Sharad Lumba, Adam Milne, Siddhesh Lad, Md Nidheesh, Mohsin Khan, Anukul Roy, Pradeep Sangwan, Tajinder Singh, Aditya Tare, Saurabh Tiwary.


Post a Comment