Friday, May 4, 2018

Vivo IPL live Score, Highlights : KXIP vs MI IPL 2018 Match 34 : Desperate Mumbai Indians seek solutions in KXIP’s adopted home

Vivo IPL live Score, Highlights : KXIP vs MI IPL 2018 Match 34 : Desperate Mumbai Indians seek solutions in KXIP’s adopted home

MI faces a strong chance of an early exit from the IPL with KXIP the upcoming opposition. MI would hope to nature out their woes at the start with the bat and the ball when they take a trip to Holkar Stadium in Indore. The3 time champions are in depressed run of form having won 2 matches out of 8 and sit bottom of the IPL table.

At the other hand of the spectrum, KXIP have looked excellent thus far in the tournament with 5 wins out of 8. Defeat to SRH ended their streak of 4 successive wins. Now, they switch their home base to Indore after a week’s smash to pick up from where they left off. Under R Ashwin’s leadership, Chris Gayle and KL Rahul would expect that the break would have recharged their batteries to go all out once again. The pairing at the top has contributed with 252 runs (Gayle) and 268 runs (KL Rahul). Gayle, not picked up by Royal Challengers Bangalore despite early promise, has scored two half centuries while Rahul blazed away for fastest 50 in IPL.


Kings XI Punjab                           VS                           Mumbai Indians
174/6 (20)                                                                        176/4 (19)

 MI beat KXIP by 6 wickets

Kings XI Punjab

Mumbai Indians

Afghanistan’s rookie mystery spinner Mujeeb ur Rahman, having picked up 7 wickets at an market rate of 6.51, has been KXIP’s key part in the bowling attack. Among the seamers, Ankit Rajpoot (7 wickets at 6.27) and Andrew Tye (9 wickets at 7.78) have complete the job for the Preity Zinta co-owned permit.

For Mumbai Indians, their begin has been a motive for concern – both in batting and bowling. With the bat, Suryakumar Yadav, with 283 runs from 8 games, has taken the chance of being promoted to the top of the order with both hands. But similar cannot be said for his partner Evin Lewis (194 in 7 games) who has struggled and fell reasonably on multiple occasions. To accommodate Suryakumar as an opening, Rohit Sharma (196 in 8 matches) has shuffled his own batting situation but that has resulted in variation affecting Mumbai Indians. The opening stands in 8 games have thus far been: 7, 11, 102, 0, 1, 12, 69, 5.

In middle of the order, all-rounders Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya have not chipped in as the team would have liked. With Pollard not well enough to bowl, his contribution of 76 runs in 6 innings has been a motive for concern. Pandya has been conflicting with 111 runs, including a battling 50 in the last game along with 11 wickets.

With the ball, Mumbai Indians have been responsible of giving away too many runs in the powerplay overs. Left-arm pacers Mustafizur Rahaman (7 wickets) and Mitchell McLenaghan (9 wickets) have both been costly with unimpressive economy rates of 8.34 and 8.66 correspondingly.

For Mumbai Indians, the silver lining has been the appearance of young leg-spinner Mayank Markande (11 wickets). The teenager has not buckled under stress even when playing against the biggest names in world cricket matches. But with pressure mounting, Mumbai Indians need to produce the goods and do it soon to harbour any hopes of making the Playoffs.

Kings XI Punjab: Ravichandran Ashwin (captain), Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, KL Rahul (wk), Karun Nair, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Barinder Sran, David Miller, Andrew Tye, Ankit Rajpoot, Axar Patel, Akshdeep Nath, Mayank Agarwal, Manoj Tiwary, Yuvraj Singh, Manzoor Dar Pandav, Pardeep Sahu, Ben Dwarshuis, Marcus Stoinis, Mayank Dagar.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mayank Markande, Mitchell McLenaghan, Mustafizur Rahaman, Jasprit Bumrah, Akila Dananjaya, Ben Cutting, JP Duminy, Rahul Chahar, Sharad Lumba, Adam Milne, Siddhesh Lad, Md Nidheesh, Mohsin Khan, Anukul Roy, Pradeep Sangwan, Tajinder Singh, Aditya Tare (wk), Saurabh Tiwary.


Post a Comment