Monday, May 14, 2018

Vivo IPL Live Score, KXIP vs RCB: Royal Challengers Bangalore Keen to Derail Kings XI Punjab's Campaign

Vivo IPL Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB Live Score: RCB will be keen to derail KXIP momentum

Royal Challengers Bangalore will be keen to disrupt Kings XI Punjab momentum in the Indian Premier League 2018 when they take on KXIP in a must-win match at the Holkar Cricket Stadium Indore on Monday. Royal Challengers Bangalore got their IPL 2018 campaign back on track after a 5 wicket victory against Delhi Daredevils in their last match. KXIP, on the other hand, after a radiant run in the initial stages, has suffered regular defeats at the hands of Rajasthan Royals and Kolkata Knight Riders. Despite losses, Kings XI Punjab are in the top half of the league with 12 points while RCB are still languishing at the 2nd last place in the table. However in IPL, strange things have happened at the business end of the tournament and RCB, under Virat Kohli, are liable to put a lot of pressure on the slipping KXIP.

Live Scorecard
Kings XI Punjab                 vs          Royal Challengers Bangalore
88 (15.1)                                               87/0 (8)

RCB Beat KXIP By 10 Wickets

Kings XI Punjab

Royal Challengers Bangalore

While Kohli and AB de Villiers anchored an easy chase against Delhi Daredevils with stylish half-centuries, KXIP bowlers were below the pump, being taken to cleaners by Sunil Narine and Dinesh Karthik as Kolkata Knight Riders scored a mammoth 245 in the last match. Both the teams were overly reliant on their batting with Kohli and De Villiers holding the fort for the Royal Challengers Bangalore while Preity Zinta co-owned outfit looks up to KL Rahul (537 runs) and Chris Gayle (332 runs) for encouraging performances. Such has been the gulf in performance between skipper Virat Kohli and other batsmen in the team, despite blowing 'hot and cold' throughout the IPL season, he is team's top scorer by a distance with 466 runs from 11 games.

Vivo IPL 2018 Live updates of Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) vs Royal Challengers Bangalore(RCB) match, straight from Indore

De Villiers (358 runs) is 108 runs behind his skipper, while he has played 2 games less. Mandeep Singh (245 from 11 games) is 3rd in the list and is another 200 runs (221 runs) behind Kohli. For KXIP, Rahul has been in a different league with 5 half-centuries and a strike-rate of 162 plus and an average of nearly 60. Rahul will be worried to get some support from Gayle, who has gone calm after initial carnage. A quickfire 50 from Gayle can change the nature of the game.

Nevertheless, it is the bowling which has let both RCB and KXIP down on various occasions. For Kings XI Punjab, the standout bowler has been Andrew Tye with 20 wickets at an economy rate of 8 per over whereas teenage mystery spinner Mujeeb ur Rahman has been excellent with 14 wickets at an economy rate of of 6.99 per over. The problem area has been skipper Ravichandran Ashwin's incapability to get breakthroughs with only 6 scalps from 11 games at 8.13 runs per over.

In case of RCB, Virat Kohli propensity to tinker with bowling combinations after almost every game has had an impact on the performance. Only India internationals Yuzvendra Chahal (10 wickets from 11 games at an economy rate of 7.57) and Umesh Yadav (14 wickets from 11 games at an economy rate of 8.23) have played all the games. The next specialist bowler who got to play more than 5 games is Mohammed Siraj (8 wickets from 8 games at an economy rate of 9.13).
Except Chahal, the spinners have been a big failure. Washington Sundar's inexperience (economy rate of 9.60 with 4 wickets from 7 games) and Pawan Negi's profligacy (economy rate of 12.25 in 2 games) have hurt Kohli and Co's chances. Chris Woakes got 8 wickets from five games but an economy rate of 10.36 expected that the skipper had to use Tim Southee (5 wickets from 5 games at an economy rate of 8.42).

Kings XI Punjab: Ravichandran Ashwin (C), Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, KL Rahul, Karun Nair, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Barinder Sran, David Miller, Andrew Tye, Ankit Rajpoot, Axar Patel, Akshdeep Nath, Mayank Agarwal, Manoj Tiwary, Yuvraj Singh, Marcus Stoinis, Mayank Dagar.
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli(C), Quinton de Kock(w), Brendon McCullum, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Chris Woakes, Washington Sundar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Colin de Grandhomme, Moeen Ali, Manan Vohra, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Pawan Negi, Mohammed Siraj, Corey Anderson, Parthiv Patel, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande, Tim Southee.


Post a Comment