Sunday, May 13, 2018

Vivo IPL Live Score, Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals: MI Face RR In A Must-Win Game At Wankhede

Vivo IPL Mumbai Indians (MI) vs Rajasthan Royals (RR) Live Score: Both teams will face off in a must-win match today.

Mumbai Indians (MI) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) will face off in a must-win match today with both teams planning to make it to the play-offs of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018. Both 4th placed Mumbai Indians (MI) and 6thaced RR have ten points each from 11 matches and are very much in contention to be in the top 4 at the end of the round-robin stage. Top placed SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH), who have 18 points from 11 games, are the only team to have taken a place in the play-offs. 2nd placed Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are on 2nd with 14 points from 11 games, while Kings XI Punjab are third with 12 points from 10 games. 

Live Scorecard
Mumbai Indians                 vs                 Rajasthan Royals
168/6 (20)                                                    171/3 (18)

RR beat MI by 7 wickets

Mumbai Indians

Rajasthan Royals

Furthermore, the game on Sunday evening at the Wankhede Stadium is also critical because the winning side will keep the losing team away from the race to the play-offs. Mumbai Indians are coming into the game on the back of hat-trick of wins over Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), who played them twice. In Mumbai, they defeated Kolkata by 13 runs, defending a total of 181/6, before the side travelled to Bengal and destined the hosts to a 102-run victory, riding on Ishan Kishan's 21-ball 62 blast.

Vivo IPL 2018 Live updates of Mumbai Indians (MI) vs Rajasthan Royals (RR) match, straight from Wankhede Stadium

These wins have seen 3 ltime champions Mumbai jump to the 4th spot despite a disastrous start to their campaign. Suryakumar Yadav has been Mumbai's standout batsman, contributing 435 runs, even as the other batters have been incompatible, with Captain Rohit Sharma and Evin Lewis scoring 267 and 265 runs correspondingly. Runs are also expected from Ishan Kishan and all-rounders Hardik Pandya and his brother Krunal.

Mumbai Indians bowling, even though floored Kolkata Knight Riders in their last match, needs improvement in the death overs. The likes of New Zealander Mitchell McClenaghan (12 wickets) and Hardik (16 wickets) have failed to maintain it tight. Jasprit Bumrah (12 wickets), and young leggie Mayank Markande (14 wickets) also have to buck up. Mumbai Indians opponent, Rajasthan Royals will also come with high assurance. Having registered 2 back to back wins against Punjab CSK and Punjab, thanks to 2 fantastic knocks of 82 and 95 not out from English wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler. In their last game, Buttler carried his bat with a 95 not out to see his team throughout by 4 wickets against CSK.

But skipper Ajinkya Rahane will be expecting his team to get their act collectively and plan for consistency as several must win games have been ruled up for them. Buttler (415 runs), Sanju Samson (353 runs) have been the top 2 batsmen for them and opportunity will be high on them. Rahane (243 runs) and Ben Stokes (185) have been below-par and head coach Shane Warne will be thankful if they fire today. Stokes was promoted to open the innings in their earlier game but he managed 11 runs and will be exciting to see which position he comes to bat.
Stokes, the costliest buy in IPL auction 2018, has also failed in his bowling, picking up only three wickets so far. Among the bowlers, young seamer Jofra Archer has done well to claim 11 wickets from 6 matches while this vivo IPL costliest Indian buy Jaydev Unadkat has also been amongst the wickets (8) but has proved pricey with his economy rate at 9.63.

Spinner Krishnappa Gowtham has bagged 8 wickets from 11 matches, while New Zealand leg-spinner Ish Sodhi too has been inspiring, picking 3 wickets from 3 games with an economy rate of 6.18. They need to carry on the good work beside a strong batting unit of Mumbai.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mayank Markande, Mitchell McLenaghan, Mustafizur Rahaman, Jasprit Bumrah, Akila Dananjaya, Ben Cutting, JP Duminy, Rahul Chahar, Sharad Lumba, Adam Milne, Siddhesh Lad, Md Nidheesh, Mohsin Khan, Anukul Roy, Pradeep Sangwan, Tajinder Singh, Aditya Tare, Saurabh Tiwary.

Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Ben Stokes, Stuart Binny, Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Jos Buttler, Rahul Tripathi, D'Arcy Short, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jofra Archer, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaydev Unadkat, Ankit Sharma, Anureet Singh, Shreyas Gopal, Prashant Chopra, Sudhesan Midhun, Ben Laughlin, Mahipal Lomror, Aryaman Birla, Jatin Saxena, Dushmantha Chameera, Heinrich Klaasen, Ish Sodhi.


Post a Comment